Symbolique du logo

Le logo du Refettorio Genève met en lumière l’héritage de la ville et son union raisonnante de cultures, science, finance et arts. Les couleurs rouges et or s’inspirent du blason du Canton de Genève, qui date du 18ème siècle.  Le célèbre CERN et sa Sphère Céleste y sont interposés pour symboliser le dynamisme, l’interconnectivité et la circularité, les fondements du model durable du Refettorio Genève. Ce symbolisme représente aussi l’engagement pour la promotion du bien-être social, la paix, et la diplomatie humanitaire, dans un lieu qui exalte l’innovation et les bonnes pratiques environnementaux, où tout le monde se sent bienvenu, en tant que citoyen du monde et de la communauté globale.

Mission du Refettorio

Le Refettorio Genève est géré par l’organisation sans but lucratif Fondazione Mater. Il réunit la gastronomie et l’action humanitaire, pour stimuler la résilience et l’impact social dans un lieu qui célèbre l’innovation, la créativité, la science et le design. Fondé sur la riche multidisciplinarité du réseau genevois, ce projet culturel offre l’opportunité de développer le sentiment de communauté et le leadership citoyen. Les activités du Refettorio permettront de réduire la vulnérabilité sociale et promouvoir le bien être des personnes dans la précarité, tout en favorisant l’inclusivité à travers l’intégration des sciences humaines, de l’art, de l’éducation, des formations et des études culinaires.

La Fondazione Mater et Food for Soul travailleront ensemble pour renforcer l’écosystème de l’empathie et la compassion qui est historiquement encré à Genève. En mobilisant les organisations communautaires, les partenaires privées et publics, le grand public, les acteurs du gouvernement et les bénévoles, le Refettorio promut les bonnes pratiques environnementales avec des programmes et des services qui ouvrent des voies pour la mobilité sociale et économique. Guidé par ses principes fondateurs, la Valeur de l’Hospitalité, la Force de la Beauté et la Qualité des Idées, le Refettorio maximise l’impact de la Fondazione Mater avec des activités gastronomiques et culturelles qui répondent aux besoins d’aujourd’hui en préparent la voie pour ceux de demain.

“When the call to act is in our heart, we can achieve our biggest dreams - This is the passion and commitment of our partner MATER and the peaceful nature of Geneva, to care for humanity and to make a revolution as a global family."

Massimo Bottura
massimo-bottura
  • Donner son temps

    Les bénévoles nous aident à assurer que nos programmes et services rencontrent les besoins de la communauté. Si tu aimes la nourriture, tu es intéressé au développement durable ou tu veux simplement agir pour ta communauté, tu es le bienvenu à nous rejoindre. N’hésite pas à partager avec nous tes disponibilités, tes intérêts et ce qui ferait une belle expérience de bénévolat pour toi.

    Volunteers
  • Faire un don

    Soutiens le Refettorio Genève pour construire une culture où la communauté locale développe un sentiment d’appartenance, où personne est laissé en arrière et aucun aliment est gâché. Ta contribution aidera à accroitre notre impact, pour réduire le gaspillage alimentaire, améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et soutenir la formation professionnelle de ceux qui sont plus dans le besoin.

    Donate

Partenaires Principaux

foodforsoul@2x-1242x720

Food for Soul est une organisation culturelle sans but lucratif qui promeut des actions socialement responsables qui améliorent la vie de notre planète et le bien être des personnes.  De l’ouverture du Refettorio Ambrosiano à Milan en 2015, les fondateurs Massimo Bottura et Lara Gilmore ont mobilisé les communautés locales et leur ont donné les moyens pour réduire le gaspillage alimentaire et encourager l’inclusion sociale. En facilitant la transformation des personnes, des lieux et de la nourriture, Food For Soul veut créer une culture qui favorise des systèmes alimentaires durables, sains et équitables qui construisent des opportunités pour la mobilité sociale et économique et renforcent la résilience pour tous.

mater-fondazione@2x

Fondazione Mater est une fondation à but non lucratif, dont le siège est à Genève. La fondation est créée en 2020 par le chef Walter el Nagar dont la notoriété et l’engagement social vont de pair. Le but de la fondation est de promouvoir l’inclusion sociale à travers l’alimentation, favoriser l’accès à une alimentation équilibrée aux personnes en situation de précarité ou d’exclusion et lutter contre le gaspillage alimentaire. MATER propose une cuisine contemporaine de haut vol pour tous, y compris ceux qui n’en ont pas les moyens : une « expérience sociale et culinaire » à la fois, choisit un approvisionnement local et de saison en adhérence à une logique zéro déchet.

Aperçu des Programmes

Le Refettorio servira des repas nutritifs et équilibrés pour des personnes en situation de précarité, isolement ou exclusion, en coordination avec les autres organisations humanitaires à Genève. Les personnes dans le besoin seront accueillies chaleureusement et avec dignité, pour leur offrir un moment d’insouciance et bienêtre. Le Refettorio développera des programmes nutritionnels qui seront partagés avec les organisations impliqués dans la lutte contre la faim et utilisera les produits imparfaits et le surplus des producteurs et distributeurs alimentaires. Avec le support de nos ambassadeurs les chefs bénévoles et nos partenaires académiques, le Refettorio hébergera des programmes de stage et de formation professionnelle pour les jeunes générations de chefs et pour les personnes vulnérables, pour devenir un lieu d’apprentissage expérientiel pour développer leurs idées gastronomiques et un business incubator, selon un modèle d’entreprise sociale.

“At Refettorio Geneva, we want to continue promoting creativity and innovation and share it with everyone who has the desire and spirit to improve, evolve and innovate, making them participants in past, present and future experience, researching and experimenting to accelerate talent and help everyone involved, everyone seeking their own limits.”

Walter El Nagar

Nos activites et nos hotes

Le Refettorio Genève sera un phare pour la Durabilité Social, Environnementale et Economique. Il offrira tous les jours un diner convivial pour qui a besoin d’aide alimentaire et souffre l’isolement, le sans-abrisme et la marginalisation sociale. Ces efforts ont commencé avec les initiatives « community meals » de la Fondation Mater, qui a préparé environ 200 repas par jour, les a emballés et servis à la communauté. Les activités reprendront au Refettorio une fois que les travaux de rénovation seront complétés et les mesures sanitaires liés à la COVID-19 le permettront. Le lieu sera la toile de fond pour le restaurant et l’entreprise sociale de MATER, qui sera ouvert au déjeuner cinq jours par semaine, pour le grand public et les étudiants. Les services illustrent le modèle zéro-déchet dans une atmosphère de restaurant gastronomique. Ils seront une extension du plaidoyer et des programmes de formation professionnelle, tout en soutenant des actions pour nourrir la stabilité et l’autosuffisance pour ceux qui souffrent l’insécurité alimentaire.

Le Refettorio hébergera aussi des activités culturelles qui mettront en lumière la beauté de son design et la ville de Genève, notamment des conférences, ateliers et interventions artistiques qui cultiveront un sentiment partagé de communauté, de la création d’un lieu de vie  et de savoir.

Because behind every meal there is something else

Donate
get-incolved-call-1920x1080

Le model alimentaire

Conformément aux Objectifs du Développement Durable de l’Agenda 2030 de l’ONU, l’objectif du Refettorio est de concilier la cuisine gastronomique avec la production locale, le respect de l’environnement et la responsabilité sociale des acteurs impliqués, tout en suivant un modèle d’économie circulaire. Après avoir de créer un système de récupération alimentaire zéro déchet et avoir impliqué l’ensemble du secteur alimentaire, éducatif et du développement local, le Refettorio Genève opèrera pour collecter des données. Il construira ainsi un réseau de recherche sur les systèmes de récupération alimentaire, avec le but de créer des Guides d’Action qui pourront devenir un modèle à partager.

Activites culturelles

Le Refettorio fera part d’un réseau d’organisations et institutions qui soutiendront la promotion de ses valeurs. Il mettra en place une forte collaboration avec les universités et les hautes écoles du design, pour libérer tout le potentiel de se réunir autour d’une table. Avec des réunions sur le model d’un World Café, les bénéficiaires seront impliqués directement dans des discussions sur les problèmes sociétaux et les solutions à apporter.

refettorio-geneva_34A2632

Un centre pour l’innovation

Grace à sa position stratégique, à côté de la plupart des institutions diplomatiques, économiques et politiques les plus importantes au monde, le Refettorio accueillera des colloques et des assemblées avec les organisations partenaires. Le lieu deviendra ainsi un incubateur de recherche et développement.

ref-geneva-Reportage_Mater

Symbolism of our Logo

The logo of Refettorio Geneva shines light on the city’s legacy and its vibrant union of cultures, science, finance and the arts. Its colourful red and gold reflects the Canton of Geneva’s 18th century coat of arms.  Geneva’s world-renowned CERN and its Celestial Sphere, are interwoven together to symbolize dynamism, interconnectivity and circularity, the fundaments of Refettorio Geneva’s sustainable model.  This symbolism also represents the project’s commitment to promote social well-being, peace, and humanitarian diplomacy, in a space that manifests innovation and environmental best practice, where everyone feels welcome, as a citizen of the world and of the global community.

Mission of Refettorio

Refettorio Geneva led by non-profit organization Fondazione Mater brings together the gastronomy sector and humanitarian field to drive resilience and social impact in space that celebrates innovation, creativity, science and design. Building on the strong foundation of multidisciplinary interconnections in Geneva, the cultural project offers opportunities to model community development and civic leadership. The Refettorio activities will enable sustainable food and health systems to reduce social vulnerabilities and improve well-being for those most in need while bridging inclusivity through the integration of humanities and the arts, education and culinary apprenticeships and study. Together Fondazione Mater and Food for Soul will work to strengthen the ecosystem of empathy and compassion historically known in Geneva, mobilizing community organizations, private and non profit partnerships, the public and government sectors and volunteerism to scale environmental restorative best practices with programs and services that open pathways for social and economic mobility. Through its guiding principles the Value of Hospitality, Power of Beauty and Quality of Ideas, the Refettorio will scale the impact of Fondazione Mater with food and cultural activities that articulate the needs of today while paving the needs of tomorrow.

“When the call to act is in our heart, we can achieve our biggest dreams - This is the passion and commitment of our partner MATER and the peaceful nature of Geneva, to care for humanity and to make a revolution as a global family."

Massimo Bottura
massimo-bottura
  • Give your time

    Volunteers help us ensure our programs and services meet the needs of the community.  Whether you love food, are dedicated to sustainability or simply want to give back, we welcome you to join us.   Let us know your time, interest and what would make a great volunteer experience for you.

    Volunteers
  • Support us

    Help Refettorio Geneva build a culture in which the local community feels a sense of belonging, where no individual or food is left behind.  Your contribution will sustain and grow impact, helping to reduce food waste, improve food security and sustain job training and workforce for those in greatest need.

    Donate

Partner spotlight

foodforsoul@2x-1242x720

Food for Soul is a cultural nonprofit organization advocating for socially responsible actions that improve the health of our planet and well-being of people. Since the opening of Refettorio Ambrosiano, Milan in 2015, founders Chef Massimo Bottura and Lara Gilmore have been empowering and mobilizing local communities to reduce food loss and waste and support social inclusion.  By enabling the transformation of people, places and food, Food for Soul’s mission aims to scale a culture of value to foster food systems that are sustainable, healthy and equitable that bridge opportunities for social and economic mobility and strengthen resilience for all.

mater-fondazione@2x

Fondazione MATER is a nonprofit foundation, based in Geneva. The foundation was established in 2020 by chef Walter el Nagar, whose reputation as a chef goes hand in hand with his commitment to social engagement. The aim of the foundation is to promote social inclusion through nutrition, to provide access to a balanced diet for vulnerable people or victims of social exclusion, and to combat food waste. MATER offers high-end contemporary cuisine for all, including those who cannot afford it. It is at the same time, both a “social and culinary experience”, through selecting local, seasonal produce and adhering to a zero-waste policy.

Program Highlights

Refettorio Geneva will serve complete, well-balanced meals to people in situations of poverty, isolation or exclusion, in coordination with the other humanitarian organizations in Geneva with a service of hospitality, welcoming people in need with dignity and a moment of peace and well-being. As a central part of the programming, the Refettorio will develop nutritional programmes to be shared with organizations involved in the fight against hunger and will use imperfect and surplus or oversupplies of food producers and retailers. With the support of recognized volunteer ambassador chefs and academic partnerships, the program framework of the Refettorio will host stage programs, vocational training programs for young generations of next chefs and those individuals vulnerable to engage in experiential learning to try out their gastronomic ideas as a business incubator in a social enterprise environment.

“At Refettorio Geneva, we want to continue promoting creativity and innovation and share it with everyone who has the desire and spirit to improve, evolve and innovate, making them participants in past, present and future experience, researching and experimenting to accelerate talent and help everyone involved, everyone seeking their own limits.”

Walter El Nagar

Our Activities and Guests

Refettorio Geneva will be a model of Social, Environmental and Economic Sustainability, offering a daily evening meal with hospitality and conviviality for those in need of food assistance, experiencing social isolation, homelessness and marginalization.  These efforts started through Fondazione MATER’s community meal initiatives, preparing approximately 200 nutritious meals packaged and served in the community; transitioning into the Refettorio dining area once renovations are complete and COVID safety measures allow.  The space will be the backdrop of a MATER social enterprise restaurant concept opening for lunch five days per week to the public and the students of the universities.  The services will highlight the programs zero waste food model in a fine dining atmosphere and be an extension of the advocacy and vocational training programs while sustaining operations to nurture the stability and self-sufficiency for those experiencing food insecurity.    The Refettorio will also be home to supportive and cultural activities that harness the beauty of it’s design and the city of Geneva through lectures, workshops and art interventions that cultivate a shared sense of community, placemaking and knowledge.

Because behind every meal there is something else

Donate
get-incolved-call-1920x1080

The food model

In line with the objectives of the UN’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the aim of the Refettorio is to reconcile gastronomic cuisine with environmentally friendly local production and the social responsibility of the actors involved, all within a circular economy project. Besides achieving a goal of creating a zero-waste food recovery system and involving the local entire food service, education, SDGs sustainability sector, Refettorio Geneva will collect data and build a research network on food recovery systems with the aim of creating Action Guides which could become a sharable model.

Cultural activities

The Refettorio will be part of a network of organizations and institutions which will help the promotion of its values. It will also create a strong collaboration with universities and industrial design schools to unfold the full potential of the gathering around a table by engaging the beneficiaries, actively, in discussion sessions about problems and solutions in the shape of a ‘World Cafè’.

refettorio-geneva_34A2632

A innovation Hub

Thanks to its strategic position, neighborhood by the vast majority of the more important diplomatic, economic and political organizations in the world, the Refettorio will host symposiums and assembly with partner organizations and will transform its space into a research and development incubator.

ref-geneva-Reportage_Mater